Congratulations to the 40 teams PLUS all the mentors, volunteers, sponsors, friends and family members from California, Arizona, Türkiye and Chinese Taipei who participated in the FIRST Robotics Competition Aerospace Valley Regional from April 3-6, 2024.

We’d like to extend an immense THANK YOU to all the sponsors, mentors and volunteers who contributed to this very successful Regional.

We hope you too had a memorable experience! 


FIRST Impact Award

The FIRST Impact Award is the most prestigious award at FIRST, it honors the team that best represents a model for other teams to emulate and best embodies the purpose and goals of FIRST.   

The FIRST Impact Award is presented to the team judged to have the most significant measurable impact of its partnerships among its participants and community over a sustained period, not just a single build season. The winner is able to demonstrate progress towards FIRST’s mission of transforming our culture.  The recipient team will be invited to a FIRST Championship where it will compete for the FIRST Impact Award against winners from other qualifying events.

  • Team 2429, La Cañada Engineering Club from La Cañada, CA

Creating an effective pipeline is a key element of sustainability throughout FIRST. This team has found effective partnerships to not only extend but enhance the STEM experience of both participants and spectators. Combining and stacking events creates a strong foundation, taking advantage of every opportunity to share STEM folks with FIRST and FIRST folks with STEAM. The blocks just fall into place.

      Engineering Inspiration

      The Engineering Inspiration Award celebrates outstanding success in advancing respect and appreciation for engineering within a team’s school and community.  This team will advance to the Championships and receive a $5000 NASA grant toward registration.


      This team showed measurable year-over-year growth in outreach. Like a bird of prey, they saw all options to engage. Their multi-level training helped attendees soar to new heights!

      Regional Winners

      • Team 294, Beach Cities Robots from Redondo Beach, CA (Championship Qualifying Award)
      • Team 2659,  RoboWarriors from Mission Hills, CA  (Championship Qualifying Award)
      • Team 4322, Clockwork from Orange, CA (Championship Qualifying Award – wildcard)

      Dean’s List Finalist

      In an effort to recognize the leadership and dedication of FIRST’s most outstanding FRC students, the Kamen family sponsors an award for selected top students known as the FIRST Dean’s List. This award celebrates a student’s outstanding leadership and effectiveness in advancing respect and appreciation for engineering and engineers, both within their school, as well as their community. FIRST Dean’s List Finalists will compete at the championship for the FIRST Dean’s List.

      • Samantha K – Team 6305, Stable Circuits
      • Lucian M – Team 2073, EagleForce

      Woodie Flowers Finalist Award

      FIRST stands apart from other competitions in STEM and sports due to the FIRST Ethos of Gracious Professionalism, the concept of Coopertition, and the commitment to the FIRST Core Values. The guiding force behind these principles was Dr. Woodie Flowers. Dr. William Murphy, Jr., who was instrumental in creating the concept of FIRST with Dean Kamen, recognized the unique perspective, wisdom, and communication style that Woodie brought to the FIRST Robotics Competition.

      In honor of Woodie, Dr. Murphy founded the Woodie Flowers Award in 1996. He recognized that the FIRST ethos would be carried forward by our FIRST mentors and sought to celebrate those mentors who demonstrate the leadership, ethical behavior, and communication skills exemplified by Woodie. Woodie believed “societies get the best of what they celebrate”.

      Being recognized by students, through nomination essays, makes this honor very meaningful to mentors. It is truly an honor for a mentor to be nominated for this award.

      • Kiet Chau – Team 1538, The Holy Cows

      Volunteer of the Year

      The Volunteer of the Year Award celebrates the dedication and service of truly outstanding volunteers. The phenomenal success of the FIRST Robotics Competition is a reflection of the commitment and enthusiasm displayed by our volunteers. We are truly humbled by the passion and commitment of our volunteers.

      • Kriss Vanderhyde

      Additional Awards

      Congratulations to the Teams and individuals that earned the remaining awards at the Aerospace Valley Regional! See the list here.