Congratulations to the 36 Teams PLUS all the Mentors, Volunteers, Sponsors, Friends and Family members who participated in the Aerospace Valley FIRST Robotics Regional Competition from April 6-9, 2022.


The following teams and individuals earned top honors at the Aerospace Valley Regional and earned their way to compete at the FIRST Championships in Houston, April 20-23, 2022.

Regional Chairman’s

The Chairman’s Award represents the true spirit of FIRST.  It honors the team that best serves as a model for other teams to emulate and that embodies the goals of FIRST.  It remains FIRST’s most prestigious team award The Chairman’s Award is presented to the team judged to have the most significant measurable impact of its partnerships among its participants, school, and community over a sustained period, not just a single build season or school year. The winner is able to demonstrate progress towards FIRST’s mission of transforming our culture.  The recipient will be invited to the FIRST Championship where it will compete for the Chairman’s Award against the winners from all the other qualifying events.

  • Team 399, Eagle Robotics from Lancaster, CA

Engineering Inspiration

The Engineering Inspiration Award celebrates outstanding success in advancing respect and appreciation for engineering within a team’s school and community.  This team will advance to the Championships and receive a $5000 NASA grant toward registration.

Regional Winners

  • Team 5199, Robot Dolphins from Outer Space from San Juan Capistrano, CA
  • Team 4414, High Tide from Ventura, CA
  • Team 5526, Penoles, from Torreon, Coahuila, Mexico (wildcard)

Dean’s List Finalists

In an effort to recognize the leadership and dedication of FIRST’s most outstanding FRC students, the Kamen family sponsors an award for selected top students known as the FIRST Dean’s List. This award celebrates a student’s outstanding leadership and effectiveness in advancing respect and appreciation for engineering and engineers, both within their school, as well as their community. FIRST Dean’s List Finalists will compete at the championship for the FIRST Dean’s List.

  • Maryanne Molina from Team 399
  • John Chang from Team 2658

Woodie Flowers Finalist

  • Ayşegül Boz from Team 6989

Additional Awards

Congratulations to the Teams and individuals that earned the remaining awards at the Aerospace Valley Regional! See the list here.


An immense THANK YOU to all the sponsors, mentors and volunteers who contributed to this very successful Regional.

We hope you too had a memorable experience at the Aerospace Valley Regional!