Congratulations to the 38 teams PLUS all the mentors, volunteers, sponsors, friends, and family members from all over California, Hawaii, Chinese Taipei, and China who participated in the FIRST Robotics Competition Sacramento Regional from March 13-16, 2024.

We were honored to have guest speakers from California GovOps, the Department of Technology, Elk Grove Unified School District Board, and our generous sponsor PG&E, who brought invaluable insights and support to the event. Additionally, we were delighted to have the Sacramento Bee out to help highlight the incredible talent and hard work of all involved.  You are find the coverage here.

We’d like to extend an immense THANK YOU to all the sponsors, mentors, and volunteers who contributed to this very successful Regional. Your dedication and support are what make this event so impactful.

We hope you too had a memorable experience and are inspired by the creativity and innovation demonstrated by all the teams. Thank you for making the Sacramento Regional a resounding success!


FIRST Impact Award

The FIRST Impact Award is the most prestigious award at FIRST, it honors the team that best represents a model for other teams to emulate and best embodies the purpose and goals of FIRST.   

The FIRST Impact Award is presented to the team judged to have the most significant measurable impact of its partnerships among its participants and community over a sustained period, not just a single build season. The winner is able to demonstrate progress towards FIRST’s mission of transforming our culture.  The recipient team will be invited to a FIRST Championship where it will compete for the FIRST Impact Award against winners from other qualifying events.

    Engineering Inspiration

    The Engineering Inspiration Award celebrates outstanding success in advancing respect and appreciation for engineering within a team’s school and community.  This team will advance to the Championships and receive a $5000 NASA grant toward registration.

    •  Team 4159, CardinalBotics from San Francisco, CA

    Regional Winners

    • Team 604, Quixilver from San Jose, CA (Championship Qualifying Award)

    • Team 254, The Cheesy Poofs from San Jose, CA (Championship Qualifying Award)

    • Team 4135, Iron Patriots from Modesto, CA

    Dean’s List Finalist

    In an effort to recognize the leadership and dedication of FIRST’s most outstanding FRC students, the Kamen family sponsors an award for selected top students known as the FIRST Dean’s List. This award celebrates a student’s outstanding leadership and effectiveness in advancing respect and appreciation for engineering and engineers, both within their school, as well as their community. FIRST Dean’s List Finalists will compete at the championship for the FIRST Dean’s List.

    •  Jason M – Team 254, The Cheesy Poofs
    • Angel F – Team 8048, HH East Palo Alto Churrobots

    Woodie Flowers Finalist Award

    FIRST stands apart from other competitions in STEM and sports due to the FIRST Ethos of Gracious Professionalism, the concept of Coopertition, and the commitment to the FIRST Core Values. The guiding force behind these principles was Dr. Woodie Flowers. Dr. William Murphy, Jr., who was instrumental in creating the concept of FIRST with Dean Kamen, recognized the unique perspective, wisdom, and communication style that Woodie brought to the FIRST Robotics Competition.

    In honor of Woodie, Dr. Murphy founded the Woodie Flowers Award in 1996. He recognized that the FIRST ethos would be carried forward by our FIRST mentors and sought to celebrate those mentors who demonstrate the leadership, ethical behavior, and communication skills exemplified by Woodie. Woodie believed “societies get the best of what they celebrate”.

    Being recognized by students, through nomination essays, makes this honor very meaningful to mentors. It is truly an honor for a mentor to be nominated for this award.

    •  Bryan Cooley – Team 4159, CardinalBotics

    Additional Awards

    Congratulations to the Teams and individuals that earned the remaining awards at the Sacramento Regional! See the list here.